clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

UFC Vegas 37 post-fight bonuses: Four main card fighters including Anthony Smith win POTN

Check out the list of $50K bonus winners for UFC Vegas 37.

Four main card fighters won an extra $50K at UFC Vegas 37.
Four main card fighters won an extra $50K at UFC Vegas 37. | Photo by Jeff Bottari/Zuffa LLC.

Falling bodies seemed to be a recurring theme for Saturday night’s UFC Vegas 37. Fans were treated to seven finishes out of 14 fights, five of which ended via knockout and TKO.

The prelims opened with Hannah Goldy finishing Emily Whitmire via armbar from bottom position, a rare sighting in today’s MMA. It was followed by a unanimous draw between bantamweights Gustavo Lopez and Heili Alateng. The third bout of the night had welterweight Impa Kasanganay losing via stoppage to Carlston Harris.

The two fights that followed both ended via decision. Erin Blanchfield defeated Sarah Alpar and Montel Jackson defeated JP Buys. Next up was a 158-pound catchweight featuring 21-year-old Zhu Rong, who knocked out Brandon Jenkins.

Closing out the prelims were two decision wins for Racquel Pennington over Pannie Kianzad and Tafon Nchukwi over Mike Rodriguez.

The main card started with a bang as Joaquin Buckley continued to solidify his reputation as a violent action fighter by knocking out Antonio Arroyo in the third round. And after being wobbled at the end of the first round, bantamweight Nate Maness scored a second-round stoppage via TKO over Tony Gravely in the fight that followed.

The third main card fight saw number 14-ranked lightweight Arman Tsarukyan score a first-round TKO win over Christos Giagos. What followed is two impressive decision wins: Ariane Lipski over Mandy Bohm and Ion Cutelaba over Devin Clark.

Capping off the night was Anthony Smith’s first-round submission win over Ryan Spann. The former light heavyweight title contender is now on a three-fight win streak, all via stoppage in the opening round.

Performance of the Night: Anthony Smith, Arman Tsarukyan, Nate Maness, Joaquin Buckley

Joaquin Buckley (KO, 2:26 of round 3), Nate Maness (TKO, 2:10 of round 2), Arman Tsarukyan (TKO, 2:09 of round 1), Ariane Lipski (UD, 30-27 on all cards), Ion Cutelaba (UD, 30-26, 29-26, 29-27), Anthony Smith (submission, 3:47 of round 1)

Hannah Goldy (submission, 4:17 of round 1), Gustavo Lopez. Vs Heili Alateng (draw, 28-28 on all cards), Carlson Harris (TKO, 2:38 of round 1), Erin Blanchfield (UD, 30-25, 30-25, 30-26), Montel Jackson (UD, 30-27 on all cards), Zhu Rong (TKO, 4:35 of round 3), Raquel Pennington (UD, 29-28 on all cards), Tafon Nchukwi (UD, 30-27 on all cards).

Note: No Fight of the Night winner was announced