clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

UFC 268 fight card primer: Kamaru Usman vs. Colby Covington 2

Get up to date on the main event of UFC 268 between Kamaru Usman and Colby Covington. 

If you buy something from an SB Nation link, Vox Media may earn a commission. See our ethics statement.

The main event of UFC 268 will feature a welterweight title fight between Kamaru Usman (19-1 MMA, 14-0 UFC) and Colby Covington (16-2 MMA, 11-2 UFC). UFC 268: Usman vs. Covington II airs live from Madison Square Garden in New York City, New York this Saturday, November 6th. The ESPN+ PPV main card will start with a fight time of 10:00 p.m. ET/7.00 p.m. PT, with the ESPNews prelims beginning at 8:00 p.m. ET/5:00 p.m. PT and the ESPN+ early prelims kicking off at 6:00 p.m. ET/3:00 p.m. PT.

How do these two stack up?

Usman: 34 years old | 6’0” | 76” reach

Covington: 33 years old | 5’11” | 72” reach

What have these two done recently?

Usman: W - Jorge Masvidal (KO) | W - Gilbert Burns (TKO) | W - Jorge Masvidal (DEC)

Covington: W - Tyron Woodley (TKO) | L - Kamaru Usman (TKO) | W - Robbie Lawler (DEC)

How did these two get here?

A rematch between Kamaru Usman and Colby Covington was inevitable. Usman and Covington met nearly two years ago at UFC 245, where the ’Nigerian Nightmare’ stopped ‘Chaos’ via fifth-round technical knockout. Prior to the stoppage, the fight was very close, and it was clear that both men would meet again in the future. And here we are.

Usman has defended the welterweight championship three times since his fight with Covington. The 34-year-old took on a short-notice replacement in Jorge Masvidal at UFC 251 and controlled him for five rounds to earn a unanimous decision win. Usman was then paired against Gilbert Burns, a Brazilian jiu-jitsu world champion, at UFC 258 and finished him by way of third-round technical knockout. Just two months later, Usman faced the aforementioned Masvidal again and put him out cold, this time with a violent right hand and follow-up hammerfists at UFC 261.

Covington has not been as active in recent months. The one-time title challenger was adamant about getting an immediate rematch against Usman but did not get one and instead returned to the Octagon to fight another rival in Tyron Woodley. The MMA Masters product got a fifth-round technical knockout over Woodley after he suffered a rib injury. Covington continued to challenge Usman to another fight, which he eventually got.

Why should you care?

We are getting the sequel to one of the best championship fights in recent memory. Is this going to be a repeat for Usman? Or is this redemption for Covington?