clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Rise and shine! First two UFC shows of 2021 will be daytime events

New, comments

Breakfast or brunch with the UFC is how we’ll kick off the 2021 schedule.

UFC Fight Island Previews Photo by Jeff Bottari/Zuffa LLC

With the UFC returning to Abu Dhabi for the month of January, fans in North America will be treated to daytime cage-fighting for the upcoming Fight Night cards.

The promotion confirmed that UFC Fight Island 7, headlined by Max Holloway vs. Calvin Kattar, will air on ABC and ESPN+ with a main card start time of 3 PM ET/12 PM PT on Saturday, January 16th. Prelims will be exclusive to ESPN+ at 12 PM ET/9 AM PT, although if we lose any more fights who knows if the prelims start time will change.

Just a few days later on January 20th, you’ll get not just a rare midweek card but one that has an even earlier start time. UFC Fight Island 8: Chiesa vs. Magny prelims will be simulcast on ESPN and ESPN+ at 9 AM ET/6 AM PT followed by main card action at 12 PM ET/9 AM PT. Nothing like a Wednesday show that’s over before lunch time on the West Coast.

UFC 257: McGregor vs. Poirier 2, however, will remain in its usual slot with a 10 PM ET/7 PM PT main card start time and televised prelims on at 8 PM ET/5 PM PT. Just remember that it’ll cost a bit more for that PPV and all others moving forward.