clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

RIZIN.26 NYE Results and videos: Kyoji Horiguchi gets revenge, TKOs Asakura early

Kyoji Horiguchi won the rematch against Kai Asakura to end the year.

Kyoji Horiguchi

RIZIN headlined their annual New Year’s Eve special at the Saitama Super Arena with a bout between two world class bantamweights, and it ended up as a huge night for Kyoji Horiguchi. After a long stretch being sidelined and forced to drop both his RIZIN and Bellator belts, Horiguchi returned on the main event for his highly anticipated rematch with Kai Asakura.

Asakura swiftly knocked Horiguchi out in 2019, and as 2020 came to a close, Horiguchi got his revenge. He fought a perfect fight, going in and out to land hard leg kicks that clearly did damage. Then he eventually landed a perfectly placed counter as Asakura jumped in with a knee. Horiguchi followed up to drop and finish him at the 2:48 mark of the first round.

Horiguchi not only got that 2019 loss back, he also reclaimed the RIZIN belt in the process. After the fight, he screamed with joy.

“Yessss! Easy Fight!”

On the co-main event, Tenshin Nasukawa beat Kumandoi Phetjaroenvit by decision. Also picking up quality wins on the night were Ayaka Hamasaki, Takanori Gomi, Naoki Inoue, and Hideo Tokoro.

Check out more gifs and videos from the fights below, along with full results from the event.


Session 3

Kyoji Horiguchi def. Kai Asakura by TKO, R1 – RIZIN bantamweight title

Tenshin Nasukawa def. Kumandoi Phetjaroenvit by unanimous decision

Mikuru Asakura def. Satoshi Yamasu by TKO, R1

Takanori Gomi def. Kouzi by majority decision

Ayaka Hamasaki def. Miyuu Yamamoto by submission (leg scissor choke), R1 – RIZIN atomweight title

Session 2

Naoki Inoue def. Yuki Motoya by submission (RNC), R1

Kleber Koike def. Kyle Aguon by submission (darce choke)

Kyohei Hagiwara def. Ren Hiramoto by TKO, R2

Hideo Tokoro def. Shinobu Ota by Submission (Armbar), R2

Session 1

Yoshinari Nadaka def. Phetmalai Phetjaroenvit by TKO, R1

Ulka Sasaki def. Kenta Takizawa by Unanimous Decision

Kanna Asakura def. Ai Shimizu by Unanimous Decision

Shibatar def. Mr. X (Hiroya) by Submission (armbar) — Draw overturned to submission after review showed Hiroya tapped.

Kazuma Kuramoto def. Taiyo Nakahara by KO, R1

Tsuyoshi Sudario def. Ikuhisa Minowa by TKO, R1