clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Bellator 222 results: Rory MacDonald wins decision over Neiman Gracie, advances to GP finals

New, comment

Rory MacDonald defeated Neiman Gracie to keep his welterweight belt in the Bellator 222 Grand Prix main event.

The top of the Bellator 222 main card just concluded with Rory MacDonald earning a unanimous decision over Neiman Gracie to retain his welterweight title. He also advances to the next round of Bellator’s welterweight Grand Prix where he will rematch former two-time champ Douglas Lima.

Both fighters seemed content to keep the bout on its feet in the opening round. MacDonald worked behind his jab as Gracie looked for his leg kicks. The second round was a different story. Gracie immediately scored a takedown and began hunting for a leg. MacDonald fought off the leg lock and scrambled back up to his feet, but still couldn’t get separation. He ended up taking top position off of a botched Gracie takedown, and ate up quite a bit of clock as he sprinkled down strikes.

MacDonald got his strikes going in the third round, landing the better strikes before scoring a takedown. Gracie had a brief armbar attempt, but other than that it was all MacDonald on the ground. Gracie tried to take the fight to the ground in the fourth round. He was able to take the back briefly, but MacDonald spun into the guard. MacDonald would keep the top position and drop some more strikes before the round came to a close.

Gracie managed to get himself a takedown within the first minute of the final round. He controlled from the top and MacDonald remained composed. As time dwindled down Gracie attacked a leg, but the submission defense of MacDonald was still there and the fighters went the distance.

Main card:

  • Rory MacDonald def. Neiman Gracie by unanimous decision (49-46, 48-47 x2): Welterweight Title/Grand Prix
  • Lyoto Machida def. Chael Sonnen by TKO at :22 of round 2: Light Heavyweight
  • Dillon Danis def. Max Humphrey by submission (Armbar) at 4:28 of round 1: 175-pounds
  • Patrick Mix def. Ricky Bandejas by submission (RNC) at 1:06 of round 1: Bantamweight
  • Juan Archuleta def. Eduardo Dantas by KO at 4:59 of round 2: Featherweight
  • Kyoji Horiguchi def. Darrion Caldwell by unanimous decision (49-46 x2, 48-47): Bantamweight Title


  • Brandon Polcare def. Brandon Medina by submission at 4:33 of round 3: Flyweight
  • Kastriot Xhema def. Whitney Jean Francois by TKO at 3:17 of round 2: 165 pounds
  • John Beneduce def. Kenny Rivera by unanimous decision: Featherweight
  • Taylor Turner def. Heather Hardy by TKO at 3:53 of round 1: 128 pounds
  • Adam Borics def. Aaron Pico by TKO at 3:55 of round 2: Featherweight
  • Valerie Loureda def. Larkyn Dasch by unanimous decision: (W) Flyweight
  • Lindsay VanZandt def. Rena Kubota by submission at 4:04 of round 1: 112 pounds
  • Haim Gozali def. Gustavo Wurlitzer by submission at 4:02 of round 1: 175 pounds
  • Mike Kimbel def. Sebastian Ruiz by split decision: Bantamweight
  • Robson Gracie Jr. def. Oscar Vera by submission at 3:15 of round 1: Welterweight
  • Marcus Surin def. Nekruz Mirkhojaev by split decision: Lightweight
  • Phil Hawes def. Michael Wilcox by TKO at 5:00 of round 1: Lightweight