WBO welterweight champion Terence Crawford (35-0, 26 KOs) picked up an unusual TKO finish of Amir Khan (33-4, 20 KOs) who did not continue after getting hit with a low blow in the sixth round of an otherwise one-sided fight in Crawford’s favor. Usually when an accidental foul ends a boxing match, a no-contest is declared if its within four rounds, and a technical decision beyond that.
Not in New York, though. You can absolutely win by accidental foul TKO based on the commission’s guidelines.
From the NYSAC’s rulebook: (Bold emphasis mine)
Section 211.48. Injuries sustained by foul
(b) Accidental fouls:
(1) If an accidental foul causes an injury severe enough for the referee to stop the bout, the bout will result in a “No Decision” if stopped before three (3) completed rounds in bouts scheduled for four rounds. Rounds are complete when the bell rings signifying the end of a round. If a bout is scheduled for more than four (4) rounds and an accidental foul occurs causing an injury severe enough for the referee to stop the bout immediately, the bout will result in a “No Decision” if stopped before four (4) completed rounds.
(2) If an accidental foul causes an injury severe enough for the referee to stop the bout immediately, after three (3) rounds have occurred in bouts scheduled for four rounds, the bout will result in a “Technical Decision,” awarded to the boxer who is ahead on the score cards at the time the bout is stopped. If a bout is scheduled for more than four (4) rounds and an accidental foul causing an injury severe for the referee to stop the bout immediately, after four (4) rounds have occurred, the bout will result in a “Technical Decision,” awarded to the boxer who is ahead on the score cards at the time the bout is stopped.
(3) A fighter who is hit with an accidental low blow must continue after a reasonable amount of time but no more than five (5) minutes or he/she will lose the fight.
The foul happened after round four, so that’s out of the equation. Referee didn’t waive off the fight immediately after the low blow, so that’s ruled out. However, Khan took about two minutes before Virgil Hunter asked his fighter if he wanted to continue, and Amir said no. Fight over. TKO finish in the books.
Now with that said, this doesn’t appear to be the case for MMA bouts sanctioned in the state of New York.
Section 212.12. Accidental and intentional fouls resulting in injury.
(a) If a contest or exhibition of professional mixed martial arts is stopped because of an accidental foul, the referee, with advice from the ringside physician, shall determine whether the combatant who has been fouled can continue or not. If the contestant’s chance of winning has not been seriously jeopardized as a result of the foul, the referee may order that the contest or exhibition continue after a recuperative interval of not more than 5 minutes. Immediately after separating the contestants, the referee shall inform the Commission’s representative of a determination that the foul was accidental.
(b) If the referee determines that a contest or exhibition of professional mixed martial arts may not continue because of an injury suffered as the result of an accidental foul, the contest or exhibition shall be declared a no contest if the foul occurs during either of the following: (1) The first two rounds of a scheduled three-round contest or exhibition; or (2) The first three rounds of a scheduled five-round contest or exhibition.
(c) If an accidental foul renders a combatant unable to continue the contest or exhibition after the completed second round of a scheduled three-round contest or exhibition, or after the completed third round of a scheduled five-round contest or exhibition, the outcome shall be determined by scoring the completed rounds and the round during which the referee stops the contest or exhibition.
Sometimes these things happen in boxing.