clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Oleksandr Gvodzyk vs. Artur Beterbiev live results updates and discussion

New, 1 comment

Get results and full fight coverage here for this light heavyweight title unification between Oleksandr Gvodzyk and Artur Beterbiev, starting at 10 PM ET/7 PM PT on ESPN.

Artur Beterbiev and Oleksandr Gvozdyk weigh in before WBO light heavyweight title fight Photo by Valery Sharifulin\TASS via Getty Images

Join Bloody Elbow tonight (Friday, October 18th) for live results and discussion for this WBC-IBF light heavyweight title unification bout, as WBC champion Oleksandr Gvozdyk (17-0, 14 KOs) and IBF champion Artur Beterbiev (14-0, 14 KOs) square off in a highly anticipated bout from Philadelphia, PA.

This is one of the best boxing matches in all of 2019. Ukraine’s Gvozdyk is part of that gifted Olympic team that included Vasiliy Lomachenko and Oleksandr Usyk, but he did lose in the amateurs to Russia’s Beterbiev. Gvozdyk is the more technical, higher-volume boxer, while Beterbiev has terrifying power. It’s a 50-50 bout that’s frankly too difficult to predict.

The main card starts at 10 PM ET/7 PM PT on ESPN, with Luis Collazo vs. Kudratillo Abdukakhorov serving as the co-main event. Prelim action begins on ESPN+ at 6:30 PM ET/3:30 PM PT. We should see the main event start at around 11 PM ET/8 PM PT or thereabouts.

The full fight card is below:

Main Card – ESPN – 10:00 pm ET / 7:00 pm PT

Artur Beterbiev def. Oleksandr Gvozdyk by TKO, 2:49 of round 10

Kudratillo Abdukakhorov def. Luis Collazo by technical decision (99-91, 98-92, 97-93)

Preliminary Card – ESPN+ – 6:30 pm ET / 3:30 pm PT

Michael Seals def. Elio Heraldo Trosch by TKO-1

Josue Vargas def. Johnny Rodriguez by unanimous decision (80-72 x3)

Julian Rodriguez def. Leonardo Doronio by TKO-6

Joseph Adorno vs. Damian Alejandro Sosa by TKO-2

Jeremy Adorno def. Misael Reyes by unanimous decision (40-35, 38-37, 40-35)

Sonny Conto def. Steven Lyons by RTD-1