For the second time in as many fights vs. Dustin Poirier, former UFC lightweight champion Eddie Alvarez threw a very obvious illegal strike while on the ground. The knee to Poirier’s head while he was downed back at UFC 211 led to the no contest ruling, and in Saturday’s rematch at UFC on FOX 30, Alvarez was caught throwing and landing a 12-to-6 elbow from mount, and referee Marc Goddard intervened and stood the fighters up. Shortly thereafter, Poirier hurt Alvarez and finished him with a barrage of strikes.
Goddard’s decision to punish Alvarez by taking away the dominant position was subject to some controversy, with UFC welterweight contender Kamaru Usman very upset over what transpired.
Prior to deleting the tweet, Usman wrote “F-ck that referee. I will not fight if that ref is calling my fight. He cost Eddie that fight smfh”
That prompted Goddard to respond and explain that it was more than just the 12-to-6 elbow that led to the stand-up.
Mr Usman, I understand that emotion is a factor. Mr Alvarez held the fence, clawed the ear & then threw the 12-6 elbow that is why the positional advantage was taken away. As for your request, no problem that’s easily arranged. I wish you all the best in your career. Thank you. https://t.co/x3GoCEkLqi— Marc Goddard (@marcgoddard_uk) July 29, 2018
This appeared to calm Usman down, as he admitted to being upset over his good friend Alvarez taking the loss.
Marc you’re not wrong. Obviously I’m overacting because that’s my brother Ed. There were a few questionable strikes on both ends. You still do a fine job as a ref.— KAMARU USMAN (@USMAN84kg) July 29, 2018
So hopefully that clears things up as to why Goddard made that decision. The 12-to-6 elbow rule may be controversial, but it’s still in the rulebook, and it’s Goddard’s job to enforce accordingly.