clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Usyk vs. Gassiev odds: Too close to call between Oleksandr Usyk, Murat Gassiev

New, comments

Talk about a 50-50 fight!

Boxing: Gassiev vs Wlodarczyk Noah K. Murray-USA TODAY Sports

Oleksandr Usyk (14-0, 11 KOs) and Murat Gassiev (26-0-1 NC, 19 KOs) are clearly the top two cruiserweights in boxing, but on Saturday in Russia, one of them will have the distinction of being the division’s undisputed champion.

It’s a fight that is genuinely too close to confidently predict, and the betting odds are a perfect reflection of that. The best odds have Gassiev available at even money and Usyk at +105.

Every bookie you take a look at suggests this is really 50-50 stuff. The biggest favorite line for either man is -125, this after Usyk opened at -275. Odds are as high as -303 that this one will go the distance, with Usyk at +152 to win on the scorecards, as opposed to Gassiev at +240 despite being in his home country. The heavy-handed, Abel Sanchez-trained Gassiev is +400 to get a KO/TKO, whereas the volume-punching Usyk is +550.

Bloody Elbow will have live coverage of World Boxing Super Series: Usyk vs. Gassiev on Saturday, July 21st at 3 PM ET/12 PM PT from the Olympic Stadium in Moscow. It’s expected that the main event will begin at around 5 PM ET/2 PM PT. The fight streams live on KlowdTV for $9.99, while UK viewers can purchase the PPV on ITV Box Office for £9.95.