clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

UFC 225 fight card primer: Colby Covington vs. Rafael dos Anjos

The co-main event of UFC 225 features a interim welterweight title fight between Colby Covington and Rafael dos Anjos.

MMA: UFC Fight Night-Barberena vs Covington Kyle Terada-USA TODAY Sports

Almost two years after their last visit to the Windy City, the UFC returns to the city of Chicago this Saturday night to host UFC 225. In the co-main event, Colby Covington (13-1 MMA, 8-1 UFC) will take on Rafael dos Anjos (28-9 MMA, 17-7 UFC) for the UFC interim welterweight title. UFC 225: Whittaker vs. Romero 2 takes place at the United Center in Chicago, Illinois this Saturday, June 9th. The main card will begin at 10 PM ET/7 PM PT on PPV. Four preliminary fights will be shown on Fox Sports 1 at 8 PM ET/5 PM PT, and four fights will take place on the Fight Pass prelims which begin at 6:15PM ET/3:15PM PT.

How do these two stack up?

Covington: 30 years old | 5”11 | 72” reach
Dos Anjos: 33 years old | 5’8” | 70” reach

What have these two done recently?

Covington: W - Demian Maia (DEC) | W - Dong Hyun Kim (DEC) | W - Bryan Barberena (DEC)
Dos Anjos: W - Robbie Lawler (DEC) | W - Neil Magny (SUB) | W - Tarec Saffiedine (DEC)

How did these two get here?

When Rafael dos Anjos handed Anthony Pettis his first loss in several years and claimed his UFC lightweight title in the process at UFC 185, the Brazilian looked like the lightweight no-one wanted business with at 155-pounds. But after successfully defending his belt against Donald Cerrone, dos Anjos dropped consecutive defeats to Eddie Alvarez and Tony Ferguson, and it looked like he was in need of a change. A move up to welterweight and finding new guidance under coach Jason Parillo at RVCA in Orange County, California has helped dos Anjos secure three impressive wins at 170-pounds, the most recent being a decision win over the division’s former champion, Robbie Lawler.

Summing up how Colby Covington got to this stage is simple, he’s talked, talked and talked a bit more. The self-proclaimed “super-villain” of the UFC has started his own campaign, “#NerdBash2018”, and posed with semi-naked adult actresses on his social media accounts. The 30-year-old has bad-mouthed anyone that has dared to step in his way to welterweight gold, and it’s worked, as he will fight for the interim 170-pound title on Saturday. Despite his brazen trash-talking, Covington has backed up his talking with his most recent performances in the octagon, wearing down his opponents with never-ending takedowns and ground-and-pound.

Why should you care?

For the vast majority of fans, it’s a chance for them to see Covington pay for his words, but asides from that, the contrast in styles between both men should make for a fascinating title fight.