clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Vote for BloodyElbow, Karim Zidan in the 10th Annual World MMA Awards was nominated for MMA media source while Karim Zidan received his second consecutive nomination for Journalist of the Year. 

On May 15, 2018, Fighters Only Magazine announced that voting is underway for the 10th Annual World MMA Awards. While the majority of the categories celebrate the fighters involved with the sport, has received nominations in multiple categories.

The first category is MMA Media Source of the Year, where BloodyElbow will be featured along with MMA Fighting, MMAjunkie, Sherdog, and FloCombat. The second category is 2017 MMA Journalist of the Year, where Karim Zidan will represent BloodyElbow alongside talented journalists from other outlets such as Ariel Helwani, John Morgan, Chuck Mindenhall, and Brett Okamoto.

Voting is underway and will continue for the next four weeks. The award ceremony is scheduled to take place on July 3rd, 2018.

Vote Here

The complete list of nominees and categories is available below:

Charles “Mask” Lewis Fighter of the Year

Ryan Bader

Rafael dos Anjos

Robert Whittaker

Demetrious Johnson

Max Holloway

Female Fighter of the Year

Julia Budd

Angela Lee

Ilima-Lei Macfarlane

Cris Cyborg

Rose Namajunas

Breakthrough Fighter of the Year

Martin Nguyen

Volkan Oezdemir

Brian Ortega

Francis Ngannou

Darren Till

International Fighter of the Year

Volkan Oezdemir

Martin Nguyen

Darren Till

Robert Whittaker

Kamaru Usman

Fight of the Year

Eddie Alvarez vs. Dustin Poirier at UFC 211

Rober Whittaker vs. Yoel Romero at UFC 213

Justin Gaethje vs. Michael Johnson at TUF 25 Finale

Aung La N Sang vs. Vitaly Bigdash at ONE Championship 56

Eddie Alvarez vs. Justin Gaethje at UFC 218

Knockout of the Year

Matt Brown vs. Diego Sanchez at UFC Fight Night 120

Edson Barboza vs. Beneil Dariush at UFC Fight Night 106

Paul Daley vs. Brennan Ward at Bellator 170

Francis Ngannou vs. Alistair Overeem at UFC 218

Aaron Pico vs. Justin Linn at Bellator 183

Submission of the Year

Diego Brandao vs. Murad Machaev at Fight Nights Global 58

Brett Johns vs. Joe Soto at TUF 26 Finale

Ali Bagov vs. Bubba Jenkins at ACB 54

Brian Ortega vs. Cub Swanson at UFC Fight Night 123

Demetrious Johnson vs. Ray Borg at UFC 216

Comeback of the Year

Justin Gaethje vs. Michael Johnson at TUF 25 Finale

Uriah Hall vs. Kryztov Jotko at UFC Fight Night 116

Nathaniel Wood vs. Josh Reed at Cage Warriors 86

Darren Elkins vs. Mirsad Bektic at UFC 209

Derrick Lewis vs. Travis Browne at UFC Fight Night 105

Upset of the Year

Martin Nguyen vs. Marat Gafurov at ONE Championship 59

Darren Elkins vs. Mirsad Bektic at UFC 209

Brent Primus vs. Michael Chandler at Bellator 180

Rose Namajunas vs. Joanna Jedrzejczyk at UFC 217

Zach Freeman vs. Aaron Pico at Bellator 180

Shawn Tompkins Coach of the Year

Duke Roufus

Trevor Wittman

Firas Zahabi

Matt Hume

Duane Ludwig

Trainer of the Year

Sam Calavitta (strength and conditioning)

Nick Curson (strength and conditioning)

Phil Darus (strength and conditioning)

Tyler Minton (nutrition)

Michelle Ingels (nutrition)

Gym of the Year


Gracie Techniques

Kings MMA



Referee of the Year

Jason Herzog

Mike Beltran

Herb Dean

Marc Goddard

John McCarthy

Ringcard Girl of the Year

Angelica Anderson

Carly Baker

Jhenny Andrade

Arianny Celeste

Mercedes Terrell

Leading Man

Martin Lewandowski

Chatri Sityodtong

Ed Soares

Dana White

Scott Coker

Best Promotion


ONE Championship




Personality of the Year

Daniel Cormier

Michale Schiavello

Chael Sonnen

Jon Anik

Joe Rogan

Analyst of the Year

Paul Felder

Jimmy Smith

Dominick Cruz

Pat Miletich

Brian Stann

Best MMA Programming

MMAjunkie Radio

The Ultimate Fighter

Sherdog Roundtable

The MMA Hour

UFC Embedded

MMA Media Source of the Year


Bloody Elbow



MMA Fighting

MMA Journalist of the Year

Karim Zidan

Brett Okamoto

Chuck Mindenhall

John Morgan

Ariel Helwani

MMA Clothing and Equipment Brand of the Year



Bad Boy