clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

UFC 230 fight card primer: Chris Weidman vs. Ronaldo Souza

Get up to date on the co-main event of UFC 230 this weekend between Chris Weidman and Ronaldo Souza.

In the co-main event of UFC 230 this Saturday, former UFC middleweight champion Chris Weidman (14-3 MMA, 10-3 UFC) will take on longtime top 185-pound contender Ronaldo “Jacare” Souza (25-6, 1 NC MMA, 8-3 UFC). UFC 230: Cormier vs. Lewis will air live from Madison Square Garden this Saturday, November 3rd. The main card will begin on PPV at 10:00 p.m. ET / 7:00 p.m. PT, whilst the FS1 prelims will start at 8:00 p.m. ET / 5:00 p.m PT, and the early prelims will kick off bat 6:15 p.m. ET / 3:15 p.m. PT on Fight Pass.

How do these two stack up?

Weidman: 34 years old | 6’1” | 78” reach
Souza: 38 years old | 6’0” | 72” reach

What have these two done recently?

Weidman: W - Kelvin Gastelum (SUB) | L - Gegard Mousasi (TKO) | L - Yoel Romero (KO)
Souza: L - Kelvin Gastelum (DEC) | W - Derek Brunson (KO) | L - Robert Whittaker (TKO)

How did these two get here?

2018 has been a frustrating year for Chris Weidman to say the least. Following his last win against Kelvin Gastelum in July 2017, “The All-American” hoped to return to action this summer, but a “one-in-a-million” thumb injury has prevented him from doing so. Weidman was supposed to be getting his chance of avenging his loss to Luke Rockhold this Saturday night, but a myriad of injuries meant Rockhold had to pull out of the fight, and the New Yorker will now instead face Jacare Souza, who like Weidman is 1-2 in his last three fights.

It’s a step up in competition for Jacare this weekend, as he was supposed to be fighting David Branch but was pulled from that fight to replace the injured Rockhold. When the Brazilian faced Robert Whittaker in April of last year, it was his chance to finally secure a shot at 185-pound gold. Failing at the final hurdle, Souza did well to bounce back from that loss by knocking out Derek Brunson for the second time in his career. The 38-year-old suffered another setback when he lost a split decision to Kelvin Gastelum this May, so he will be eager to get back in the win column this Saturday against Weidman.

Why should you care?

This fight will be a very important one in dictating the title picture at 185-pounds.