clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

UFC Fight Night: MacDonald vs. Thompson fight card

Check out the Saturday, June 18th UFC Fight Night card in Ottawa, Ontario, Canada, where welterweight contenders Rory MacDonald and Stephen Thompson meet up in a five-round main event.

Joe Camporeale-USA TODAY Sports

For the first time ever, the UFC is heading to Canada's capital city. Ottawa, Ontario hosts UFC Fight Night 89 on Saturday, June 18th, with a huge welterweight main event on tap. Rory MacDonald is in the final bout of his UFC contract, and he'll be taking on the red-hot Stephen Thompson, who is coming off a smashing KO win over Johny Hendricks. The co-main event sees a welterweight matchup between former lightweight Donald Cerrone face former middleweight Patrick Cote.

You may be wondering why this card starts at 10:30 PM ET instead of 10 PM ET. Well there's NASCAR on FS1, which is also why prelims are on FS2. We're only getting a 5 fight main card instead of the usual 6, but FS1 can certainly drag any show to last until 6 AM.

Here's next Saturday's fight card:

Main Card (10:30 PM ET/7:30 PM PT, FS1)

Rory MacDonald vs. Stephen Thompson
Donald Cerrone vs. Patrick Cote
Steve Bosse vs. Sean O'Connell
Olivier Aubin-Mercier vs. Thibault Gouti
Joanne Calderwood vs. Valerie Letourneau (at 125 lbs)

Preliminary Card (8:30 PM ET/5:30 PM PT, FS2)

Jason Saggo vs. Leandro Silva
Misha Cirkunov vs. Ion Cutelaba
Tamdan McCrory vs. Krzysztof Jotko
Chris Beal vs. Joe Soto

Preliminary Card (6:45 PM ET/3:45 PM PT, Fight Pass)

Sam Alvey vs. Elias Theodorou
Jocelyn Lybarger vs. Randa Markos
Colby Covington vs. Jonathan Meunier
Ali Bagautinov vs. Geane Herrera