clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

UFC 207: Dana White says Ronda Rousey is ‘already 135 pounds’

New, comments

UFC president Dana White recently noted that UFC 207 headliner Ronda Rousey is already on weight for her women’s bantamweight title fight vs. Amanda Nunes.

MMA: UFC 190-Rousey vs Correia Jason Silva-USA TODAY Sports

We’re just one day away from the UFC 207 weigh-ins in Las Vegas, Nevada. If you’re one to believe UFC president Dana White, who was on Good Day, New York just before Christmas weekend, Ronda Rousey will have no problem making weight on Thursday, as she’s already cut down to the bantamweight limit.

“Ronda’s very focused,” White said. “She’s on weight already, she weighs 135 pounds already — (co-host Rosanna Scotto asks if that’s good or not) — that’s very good.

“Usually people come in almost 10 pounds over and they cut the weight the day before the weigh-ins. Ronda’s already at 135 pounds. So she’s taking this so serious [sic], she’s in great shape.”

Rousey will be taking on Amanda Nunes for Nunes’ UFC title on Friday, December 30th at the T-Mobile Arena. It will be Rousey’s first fight since losing her belt to Holly Holm by head kick KO at UFC 193, back in November 2015. White recently indicated that should Rousey win back the women’s bantamweight title, and Holm defeats Germaine de Randamie for the inaugural UFC women’s featherweight belt, Rousey vs. Holm 2 could be in play.

The UFC 207 official weigh-ins will start at 12 PM ET/9 AM PT, with the “ceremonial” weigh-ins airing at 6 PM ET/3 PM PT. Bloody Elbow will have updates following the official weigh-in results, as well as live streaming video for the ceremonial weigh-ins.