clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

GLORY featherweight contender eliminator finalizes Saturday's 'Dynamite' card

A new GLORY fight has been added to the line-up for this Friday's BELLATOR MMA DYNAMITE event as Serhiy Adamchuk meets Anvar Boynazarov in a featherweight title shot eliminator battle.

Serhiy Adamchuk in action at GLORY 22 FRANCE
Serhiy Adamchuk in action at GLORY 22 FRANCE
GLORY Kickboxing

Adamchuk was originally set to meet featherweight champion Gabriel Varga but the Canadian was forced to pull out with a back injury.

His place has now been taken by Boynazarov, originally of Uzbekistan but now resident in Stockton., California via a long period of residence in Thailand.

While in Thailand, Boynazarov racked up numerous wins and holds a 7-1 record at the prestigious Lumpini Stadium in Bangkok.

He debuted at GLORY 23 LAS VEGAS in August with a decision win over flamboyant karate stylist Giga Chikadze, overcoming initial adversity to stamp his authority on the fight.

Adamchuk, originally from Ukraine but now resident in Amsterdam, Netherlands, debuted at GLORY 22 FRANCE on just 24 hours notice. He trains and fights out of Mike's Gym in Amsterdam, famous for being the home of Badr Hari, Melvin Manhoef and Murthel Groenhart among others.

He was brought in to face lightweight contender Marat Grigorian and put on a career-best performance to take a decision win. Grigorian went on to win the K-1 MAX lightweight tournament in Japan the following month, underlining the quality of Adamchuk's win.

GLORY sources have confirmed that the winner of this Saturday's fight at BELLATOR MMA DYNAMITE will go forward to a featherweight title shot when Varga returns from injury.

The event is a landmark in North American combat sports history as for the first time a venue will host an MMA cage and a kickboxing ring side-by-side.

Bellator's offering is headlined by a light-heavyweight title fight, Liam McGeary defending the strap against former UFC champion Tito Ortiz. The GLORY section is also headlined by a light-heavyweight title fight as Zack Mwekassa meets Saulo Cavalari for the vacant championship.

The complete card for "Bellator MMA: Dynamite 1" this Saturday, September 19 at the SAP Center, San Jose, California looks like so:

Main Card:

Bellator Light Heavyweight Title Fight: Tito Ortiz (18-11) vs. Liam McGeary (10-0)

Bellator Light Heavyweight Tournament Final: TBD vs. TBD

Glory Vacant Light Heavyweight Title Fight: Saulo Cavalari (31-2) vs. Zack Mwekassa (13-2)

Bellator Lightweight Feature Fight: Josh Thomson (20-8) vs. Mike Bronzoulis (18-8-1)

Glory Welterweight Feature Fight: Paul Daley (37-13-2 MMA/20-3 Kickboxing) vs. Fernando Gonzalez (24-13/1-2 Kickboxing)

Glory Bantamweight Feature Fight: Keri Anne Taylor-Melendez (2-1) vs. Hadley Griffith (Debut)

Bellator Light Heavyweight Tournament Fight: Phil Davis (13-3) vs. Emanuel Newton (25-8-1)

Bellator Light Heavyweight Tournament Fight: Linton Vassell (15-4-1) vs. Muhammed Lawal (15-4, 1 NC)

Preliminary Card:

Bellator Lightweight Feature Fight: Israel Delgado (0-1) vs. JJ Okanovich (0-1)

Bellator Welterweight Feature Fight: James Terry (15-8) vs. Carlos Rocha (9-3)

Bellator Flyweight Feature Fight: Matt Ramirez (1-1) vs. Josh Paiva (5-1)

Glory Featherweight Feature Fight: Serhiy Adamchuck (29-5) vs. Anvar Boynazarov (29-20-2)

Bellator Bantamweight Feature Fight: Gabe Carrasco (5-0) vs. Joe Neal (5-0)

Bellator Lightweight Feature Fight: Adam Piccolotti (5-0) vs. Marlen Magee (3-3)

Bellator Featherweight Feature Fight: Thomas Diagne (5-4) vs. Mike Malott (4-1)

Bellator Light Heavyweight Tournament Alternate Bout: Francis Carmont (23-10) vs. Roy Boughton (12-5)

Bellator Lightweight Feature Fight: Nick Pica (4-0) vs. Mauricio Alonso (10-5)

Bellator Featherweight Feature Fight: Victor Jones (Debut) vs. David Blanco (1-0) *

Bellator Flyweight Amateur Fight: Gloria Telles (Debut) vs. Alysia Cortez (Debut) *

Glory Lightweight Feature Fight: Jose Palacios (7-7) vs. TJ Arcengal (4-1) *

Bellator Middleweight Feature Fight: Brandon Hester (1-0) vs. DeMarco Villalona (1-0) *