clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

UFC San Diego salaries: Mir is top earner, Duffee only nets $12,000 following KO loss

Frank Mir and Todd Duffee may have fought each other in last Wednesday's UFC Fight Night main event in San Diego, but their salary totals were on nearly total opposite ends of the spectrum.

Jake Roth-USA TODAY Sports

The salaries are in for last Wednesday's UFC Fight Night: Duffee vs. Mir event in San Diego, California. Heavyweight Todd Duffee had an unsuccessful first-ever main event appearance, losing by vicious KO to former champion Frank Mir in less than 40 seconds. Not only did Duffee suffer a devastating loss, but his reported salary was a measly $12,000. Mir, unsurprisingly, topped the $884,000 payout list with $200,000 flat, with no win bonus granted.

Duffee's previous bout, a PPV main card win over Anthony Hamilton, saw him earn $10,000/$10,000 according to the NAC's salary list. He earned $8,000 in show money in his memorable loss to Mike Russow on the main card of UFC 114. Under the new Reebok deal, he also only received $2,500 in Reebok sponsorship money, as this was just his 5th UFC bout, so he made a disclosed $14,500 last week.

Jason Floyd of The MMA Report obtained the salaries per an official request to the California State Athletic Commission. Below are the reported salaries or all fighters involved on Wednesday's show, along with how much money they received through the Reebok sponsorship structure.

Disclaimer: This does NOT include taxes, insurance, other fees, "cuts" that managers or coaches might take from the salaries, post-fight bonuses, discretionary "locker room" bonuses, etc.

Frank Mir: $200,000 (no win bonus) + $20,000 Reebok
Todd Duffee: $12,000 + $2,500 Reebok

Tony Ferguson: $60,000 (includes $30,000 win bonus) + $5,000 Reebok
Josh Thomson: $85,000 + $5,000 Reebok

Holly Holm: $50,000 (includes $25,000 win bonus) + $2,500 Reebok
Marion Reneau: $12,000 + $2,500 Reebok

Manny Gamburyan: $60,000 (includes $30,000 win bonus) + $15,000 Reebok
Scott Jorgensen: $33,000 + $20,000 Reebok

Kevin Lee: $36,000 (includes $18,000 win bonus) + $2,500 Reebok
James Moontasri: $10,000 + $2,500 Reebok

Alan Jouban: $30,000 (includes $15,000 win bonus) + $2,500 Reebok
Matt Dwyer: $10,000 + $2,500 Reebok

Sam Sicilia: $36,000 (includes $18,000 win bonus) + $5,000 Reebok
Yaotzin Meza: $16,000 + $5,000 Reebok

Jessica Andrade: $32,000 (includes $16,000 win bonus) + $5,000 Reebok
Sarah Moras: $10,000 + $2,500 Reebok

Rani Yahya: $52,000 (includes $27,000 win bonus) + $15,000 Reebok
Masanori Kanehara: $14,000 + $2,500 Reebok

Sean Strickland: $34,000 (includes $17,000 win bonus)  + $2,500 Reebok
Igor Araujo: $15,000 + $2,500 Reebok

Kevin Casey: $20,000 (includes $10,000 win bonus) + $2,500 Reebok
Ildemar Alcantara: $20,000 + $5,000 Reebok

Lyman Good: $20,000 (includes $10,000 win bonus) + $2,500 Reebok
Andrew Craig: $17,000 + $5,000 Reebok