clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

UFC 183 bout between Diego Brandao and Jimy Hettes scrapped

New, comments

A UFC 183 featherweight bout has been scrapped at the last second due to one of the fighters falling ill.

Jayne Kamin-Oncea-USA TODAY Sports

Well, this is a bummer. One of the highlights of the UFC 183 prelims (at least in my eyes) was going to be a featherweight scrap between Ultimate Fighter winner Diego Brandao and Jimy Hettes. Unfortunately though, it appears that Hettes got sick in the last hour or so and the bout has been scratched from the card. MMA Fighting's Ariel Helwani explained on Twitter:

The Fight Pass prelims were due to kick off at 6:30pm ET/3:30pm PT with this fight being the final of those three bouts. With the scrapping of the bout, the start time for the card has been moved up to 7pm ET/4pm PT. We'll pass along any more news about Hettes when it comes to light.

UPDATE: The UFC issued a short statement regarding the issue:

"Having experienced a medical issue backstage, Jimy Hettes has been ruled out of tonight's fight by doctors and commission officials. He has been transported to a local hospital for safety reasons."