'Big' John McCarthy got some flak during the UFC on FOX 12 main event for calling a low blow and giving Matt Brown some time to rest, as it appeared to be a legal shot during the replay. The experienced referee defended his stance and took to twitter to speak about the somewhat controversial call:
For information, the kick thrown by Robbie was legal, his shin moved Matt Browns cup, you could hear it, that's why Matt was given a moment— Big John McCarthy (@JohnMcCarthyMMA) July 27, 2014
Brown himself also has vehemently denied that he pretended to get hit below the belt.
"I've read some things saying that said I faked the nut shot. I would never do that in my f*cking life." Brown said on Facebook, "That's bullshit. Period. End of story."
Another talking point during the bout was a kick thrown by Robbie Lawler while Brown was down moments before the fight ended. This actually seems like a no-brainer since it was a blocked kick, but with some people still asking about the legality, McCarthy had to address his no-call on twitter:
It did, which caused his arm to hit his head. Not a foul"@T_Wan827: @Crousanator @JohnMcCarthyMMA looked like it hit him in the arm"— Big John McCarthy (@JohnMcCarthyMMA) July 28, 2014