clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

BE's Baddest Greatest Striker Tournament: #4 Chuck Liddell vs #5 Demetrious Johnson

Vote now in the Bloody Elbow Baddest Tournament to determine the Greatest MMA Striker of All Time. Today's match-up: #4 Chuck Liddell vs. #5 Demetrious Johnson. Vote now!

June M. Williams

Once upon a time, there were 3 K-1 Grand Prix champions who entered this illustrious tournament. Now, only two remain. 2010 GP winner Alistair Overeem holds the unfortunate distinction of being the only highly decorated K-1 striker to not make his way out of our opening round, as he was thoroughly shellacked by Fedor Emelianenko. Shame we never saw it in real life, but what can you do? Up next for Fedor: K-1 GP champ #2 in the form of Mirko Cro Cop. That should be a good one.

Today, a #4 vs #5 match up that really speaks to the different styles of striking in MMA. On one side, you have the power punching of #4 seed Chuck Liddell, who was at one time the dominant Light Heavyweight in UFC history. Standing against him, the speed and pure technique of #5 Demetrious Johnson, the current, and to date only, UFC Flyweight champion. Fascinating clash of styles here, so who advances?

In order to vote, simply leave a comment. In the subject line make sure you follow these guidelines:

To vote for Chuck Liddell write: Vote - Liddell

To vote for Demetrious Johnson write: Vote - Johnson

Voting is open for 24 hours, so get your votes in now.

Updated tournament bracket (click to enlarge):
BADDEST Striker Rd 1-9
Thanks to June M. Williams for the tournament bracket graphic.

Sign up for the newsletter Sign up for the Bloody Elbow Daily Roundup newsletter!

A daily roundup of all your MMA and UFC news from Bloody Elbow