clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Asian MMA: Wang Guan, 4 others crowned as China's first national champions

Top Chinese star, Wang Guan was among the 5 fighters crowned by RUFF as China's first national champions.

Photo via RUFF

Top Chinese promotion Ranik Ultimate Fighting Federation or RUFF, held their 8th event this past weekend where they crowned their first 5 national champions. Among those 5 division kingpins was one of the country's biggest and most feared stars in Wang Guan (11-0-1).

The top Sanda fighter got taken down early on his bout against Wu ChengJie, and while he did show a few holes he could shore up on his ground game, he still managed to impress during the fight. Once he got a scramble and got back to the feet, he displayed that devastating power and striking skills he has been known for. Wang needed just a small opening, and he landed huge knees from the clinch that immediately dropped his opponent. A few follow up punches, and the fight was called to a halt, crowning Wang Guan as RUFF's featherweight champion, and winning the 1,000,000 RMB ($160,000) prize along with it.

Wang and his teammate in Jumabieke Tuerxun are widely considered as the two best fighters from China, and while they were both scheduled to compete for titles on this card, Bieke recently decided to pull out of the 1M RMB championship as he didn't want to sign a long term deal with RUFF. His original opponent in Irshaad Sayed, who he has previously beat twice, went on to dominate the late replacement in Yuan Chun Bo instead to win the Bantamweight crown.

The other inaugural national champions to win the huge prize money are Wang's Xian teammate Zhang MeiXuan, BJJ Champ Rodrigo Caporal, and Zhao ZiLong.

Full results:

[Light Heavyweight Title] Zhao ZiLong def. Li JiXiang via Submission (armbar) R1, 0:47
[Lightweight Title] Rodrigo Caporal def. Wu HaoTian via Submission (armbar) R1, 1:31
[Flyweight Title] Zhang MeiXuan def. Liu PingYuan via Submission (heel hook) R1, 3:11
[Bantamweight Title] Irshaad Sayed def. Yuan ChunBo via TKO (strikes) R2, 4:22
[Featherweight Title] Wang Guan def. Wu ChengJie via TKO (strikes) R1, 4:22