clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Invicta FC 7 Results and Gifs: Honchak Defends Title and Murphy Crowned Champion after Injury

New, comments

Barb Honchak beat Leslie Smith in a competitive fight, and Lauren Murphy is crowned champion after an knee injury fell Miriam Nakamoto.

Invicta FC 7 was a stacked night of women's MMA, and despite a bacterial infection stopped Carla Esparza defending her title against Claudia Gadelha, this card still featured two title fights.

Barb Honchak defeats Leslie Smith by Unanimous Decision (49-46, 49-46. 49-46)  for Invicta Flyweight Championship

In a fight that was much closer than the final score cards would suggest, Honchak was able to get behind a jab, get takedowns and take position on Smith. It was a fun fight in which Honchak did enough to win four rounds but Smith still accounted well for herself.




Lauren Murphy defeats Miriam Nakamoto by (T)KO (Knee Injury) in 4th Round at 0:23 for Inaugural Invicta FC Bantamweight Championship

A very tough break for Nakamoto here as she appeared to be up on the cards heading into the third round, and at the end of the round her knee buckled on a takedown. Ever a warrior, Nakamoto came out in the 4th round and tried to make a go of it and her knee just couldn't support her. In Murhpy's defense she was mounting a rally in that third round and is now the first Invicta FC Bantamweight Champion.


Tecia Torre defeats Felice Herrig by Unanimous Decision (30-27, 30-27, 30-27)

A domination by the American Top Team product here, Torre very well could have earned a title shot at Carla Esparza with this win.



Joanne Calderwood defeats Katja Kankaanpaa by Unanimous Decision (29-28, 29-28, 29-28)

A tough test for Calderwood, who was able to control the distance for much of this fight. Katja did get a takedown and worked for a arm triangle, but Calderwood was able to defend it. Solid win for Calderwood that was not as close as the 29-28 card suggests.


Julia Budd defeats Charmaine Tweet by Unanimous Decision (30-27, 30-27, 30-27)

Budd dominated this fight as Tweet didn't have the wrestling to stay on her feet and was far too comfortable playing for her back as Budd racked up rounds.


Vanessa Porto defeats Zoila Gurgel by Unanimous Decision (30-27, 29-28, 29-28)

Coming off a Flyweight championship defeat Vanessa Porto got a solid win over a veteran of WMMA. Porto flexed some striking and strong top position grappling to get a clear win.


Tonya Evinger defeats Sarah D'Alelio by Unanimous Decision (29-28, 29-28, 29-28)



Nina Ansaroff defeats Munah Holland by (T)KO at 3:54 of Round 2


For more MMA analysis, history, technique, and discussion be sure to follow T.P. Grant on Twitter or Facebook. And, of course, thanks for Zombie Prophet for the gifs!