Who was the worst UFC Heavyweight Champion?

In an article posted by Brent Brookhouse earlier today, Wrestling Observer's Dave Meltzer stated that Brock Lesnar was not the worst UFC champion in the company's history. I am inclinded to agree, he defended the title twice, which only he and 3 other fighters have ever been able to do. So, since I love me a discussion (and of course a poll) I wanted to take a quick look at the past UFC HW champions and let the intelligent (or intelligant if you are from Northern England) community of BE make this decision for me. I will give a little overview of each champion, if they defended the belt, and who they lost it to. I am picking up from when the belt from when it was officially created way back at UFC 12.



Mark Coleman

Won title: UFC 12 defeating Dan Severn via choke 2:57 of round 1

Title defenses: 0



Maurice Smith

Won title: UFC 14, defeating Mark Coleman via unanimous decision

Title defenses: Once (victory over Tank Abbott at UFC 15)



Randy Couture

Won title: UFC Japan defeated Maurice Smith via Decision, UFC 28 defeated Kevin Randleman via TKO, UFC 68 defeated Tim Sylvia via unanimous decision.

Title defenses: Three overall. (Left the UFC after defeating Maurice Smith at UFC Japan, defended the title twice after defeating Kevin Randleman at UFC 28, defended it once after defeating Tim Sylvia)



Bas Rutten

Won title: UFC 20, defeating Kevin Randleman via Unanimous Decision for the vacated title

Title defenses: 0 (vacated the title to move down to 205lbs, retired before ever fighting for the UFC again due to injury)



Kevin Randleman

Won title: UFC 23, defeating Pete Williams via Unanimous Decision.

Title defenses: Once (UFC 26 with a UD over Pedro Rizzo)



Josh Barnett

Won title: UFC 36, defeating Randy Couture via TKO, 4:35 of the 2nd round.

Title defenses: 0 (tested positive for banned substance, was stripped of title)



Ricco Rodriguez

Won title: UFC 39, defeating Randy Couture via submission at 3:04 of the 5th round.

Title defenses: 0



Tim Sylvia

Won title: 1st run: UFC 41, defeated Ricco Rodriguez at 3:09 of the 1st round via TKO. 2nd run UFC 59, defeated Andrei Arlovski at 2:43 of the 1st round via TKO

Title defenses: Once during his first run, twice during his second.



Andrei Arlovski

Won title: UFC 51, defeating Tim Sylvia at 0:47 of the 1st round via KO.

Defended title: Twice (when he defeated Sylvia for the title, it was an interim title due to Frank Mir being on the shelf from his motorcycle accident. Mir ended up being out for a year and a half that the UFC promoted Arlovski's interim title to the full title)



Frank Mir

Won title: UFC 48 by defeating Tim Sylvia via submission at 0:50 of the 1st round. Also defeated Antonio Rodrigo Nogueira for interim title at UFC 92.

Defended title: 0



Antonio Rodrigo Nogueira

Won title: UFC 81 by defeating Tim Sylvia via submission at 1:28 of Round 3

Defended title: 0 (this was an interim title when Randy Couture was holding out for a better contract)



Brock Lesnar

Won title: UFC 91 by defeating Randy Couture via TKO at 3:07 of the 2nd round

Defended title: Twice (UFC 100 over Frank Mir, UFC 116 over Shane Carwin)



Shane Carwin

Won title: UFC 111 by defeating Frank Mir via KO at 3:48 of Round 1 (this was another interim title, due to Lesnar being sidelined for a year due to diverticulitis.)

Defended title: 0



Cain Velasquez

Won title: UFC 121 by defeating Brock Lesnar via TKO at 4:12 of Round 1

Title defenses: 0



Junior Dos Santos

Won Title: UFC on Fox 1, defeating Cain Velasquez via TKO at 1:04 of Round 1

Title defenses: ??

So again, there is the raw data (per say). What says you knowledgeable community?

\The FanPosts are solely the subjective opinions of Bloody Elbow readers and do not necessarily reflect the views of Bloody Elbow editors or staff.