clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

UFC On Fox 2 Fight Card Primer: Chris Camozzi Vs Dustin Jacoby

UFC on Fox 2 may be headlined by Rashad Evans and Phil Davis, but the night kicks off with a middleweight fight between Ultimate Fighter season 11's Chris Camozzi (15-5d; 2-2 UFC) taking on Dustin Jacoby (6-1; 0-1 UFC) on Facebook. This fight will be the only one of the night aired on the internet. The lone Facebook fight should air this Saturday around 4:30 p.m. ET / 1:30 p.m. PT before the broadcast switches to FUEL tv at 5:00 p.m. ET / 2:00 p.m. PT. Finally, the event concludes on FOX at 8:00 p.m. ET / 5:00 p.m. PT.

Middleweight has long been considered one of the shallowest divisions in MMA. This is in part because Anderson Silva is so dominant as champion, but also because there are more prospects going to the more marquee divisions in light heavyweight and welterweight. Both fighters will be entering the cage in their early 20s, making this fight important to the development of both.

How do these two stack up?

Camozzi: 25 years old | 6'3" | 75.5" reach

Jacoby: 23 years old | 6'4"

What have these two done recently?

Camozzi: L - Francis Carmont (UD) | W - Joey Villasenor (SD) | L - Kyle Noke (SUB)

Jacoby: L - Clifford Starks (UD) | W - Billy Horne (TKO) | W - Ryan Sturdy (TKO)

How did these two get here?

Chris Camozzi made his way to the UFC like many before him as a contestant on the 11th season of The Ultimate Fighter: Liddell vs Ortiz. Though he was victorious in his fight to enter the house, Camozzi was removed from the show after sustaining a broken jaw. He was replaced with Seth Baczynski. The UFC decided to give him a spot on the Finale anyway and the rest is history. Though he was 2-0 in the organization at the time, after his rear naked choke loss to Kyle Noke, he was cut from the organization. He picked up a win over Joey Villasenor at Shark Fights 15 and was resigned by the UFC.

Jacoby made a name for himself as an undefeated prospect on the mid-West regional scene. A finisher by nature, only one of his fights left the first round. After six straight finishes, Joe Silva and the UFC came calling to test him in the major league of MMA. He faced another fighter making his UFC debut in Clifford Starks who took the fight on less than two week's notice. The fight went to decision with all three judges scoring the fight 30-27 for Starks.

Why you should care?

While it is unlikely that either fighter turns into the next Anderson Silva, they are two young guys in a wide open division. If either can string together a series of wins, it is possible they break into the top 20 of the division.

SBN coverage of UFC on Fox 2