Undefeated prospect Albert Duarev continues his streak with his 5th professional victory over ex-UFC veteran 'Professor X' Xavier Foupa Pokam.
Duarev, a World Combat Sambo champion came in with a hard flurry looking for an early Knock Out, but Pokam was able to weather the early storm and be the one to get the fight to the ground despite being the more experienced striker.
Pokam did well defensively early on with Duarev trying to play open guard and swim his legs up high looking for a limb until he snagged an armbar that looked very close to finishing with Pokam's elbow clearly bending the wrong way. The referee chose not to intervene and Pokam gutted it out until he was able to escape and get behind Duarev.
Surprisingly Pokam was able to get through Duarev's guard using a Combat Break / Log Splitter pass and at one point has mount before the end of the round.
Going into Round 2 Pokam looks visibly tired though still manages to get it to the ground and work inside Duarev's guard. Duarev again look to isolate an arm but this time works for a triangle choke and eventually gets the tap, though the original camera angle makes it hard to see. The replay confirms Pokam tapped.