Bloody Elbow: An SB Nation Community

Navigation: Jump to content areas:


Pro Quality. Fan Perspective.
Around SBN: The Record of Wrongs: Vanderbilt Commodores

BE Malware?

Got this google chrome warning when I clicked on today. You guys might want to have SBNation have a look at their banners. 

 

*******************************************************

 

Warning: Visiting this site may harm your computer! The website at www.bloodyelbow.com contains elements from the site creatives.more-banners.com, which appears to host malware – software that can hurt your computer or otherwise operate without your consent. Just visiting a site that contains malware can infect your computer. For detailed information about the problems with these elements, visit the Google Safe Browsing diagnostic page for creatives.more-banners.com. Learn more about how to protect yourself from harmful software online.

The FanPosts are solely the subjective opinions of Bloody Elbow readers and do not necessarily reflect the views of Bloody Elbow editors or staff.

0 recs  |  Comment 15 comments

Story-email Email Printer Print

Comments

Display:

thanks for the alert!

"the spirit of your average dumbass with more overblown rhetoric" OR "the self-appointed savior of MMA"

by Kid Nate on May 21, 2009 8:51 AM EDT reply actions   0 recs

cool

I think chrome is over sensitive to such things but I wanted to let you guys know it was out there…would have sent an email but I couldn’t find it

by banter on May 21, 2009 12:50 PM EDT up reply actions   0 recs

It's not a problem...

I’m a web developer and have to use Chrome, Safari, etc… a lot.

Chrome happens to pop those types of things up a lot, likely due to javascript running or something else. I don’t think BE is loading any malware.

Follow my analysis of all things MMA on BloodyElbow.com

by Leland Roling on May 21, 2009 8:57 AM EDT reply actions   0 recs

I got a virus yesterday. Only two sites I was on and one of them was bloodyelbow. Could have been a script in an ad. I am running firefox with plug in noscript now so it won’t happen again.

by szucconi on May 21, 2009 9:23 AM EDT reply actions   0 recs

If there is a malware script in an ad, that’s fucking bullshit, that shit has to be illegal to the ad distrubition company.

Follow my analysis of all things MMA on BloodyElbow.com

by Leland Roling on May 21, 2009 9:30 AM EDT up reply actions   0 recs

I visit this site more than a dozen times a day and not once have I encountered a problem such as this. I’d be more skeptical of your firewall or the other websites you visit.

by Ahhhoki on May 21, 2009 9:54 AM EDT up reply actions   0 recs

Nah, it’s Chrome. It has a more advanced system to detect Malware, Adware, but with that said, it likely sees javascript running as a possible danger. You can simply click “Proceed anyways” and it’ll just keep going.

Follow my analysis of all things MMA on BloodyElbow.com

by Leland Roling on May 21, 2009 10:34 AM EDT up reply actions   0 recs

I am on this site all day at work. This has happen twice and BE is the only site in common to both times. I am surfing, do everything that I normally do and bam, some virus scan pops up saying I am infected. I know that its lying and it is itself a virus. I kill it through the task man and I hear the sys admin “Steve, what are you doing?”. He has spotted the infection using his back door tools (symantec stuff). He spends about an hour cleaning it. I was redirected to a site called knurfeer.com, which was where the virus was. Not sure what did it, but I trust both sites I was on and the one thing they have in common is ads.

by szucconi on May 21, 2009 10:40 AM EDT up reply actions   0 recs

My TrendMicro Antivirus here at work freaked out on the site today as well. It does not come up everytime.

by gremlin1496 on May 21, 2009 10:44 AM EDT reply actions   0 recs

BE IS A VIRUS

Confirmed!

Yeah, I got a virus too from this website perhaps, and Chrome warned me as well.

by MMASuPreMaCy on May 21, 2009 1:04 PM EDT reply actions   0 recs

SBNation says

Our folks at SBN sent us this message:

We have blocked several ad providers.

"the spirit of your average dumbass with more overblown rhetoric" OR "the self-appointed savior of MMA"

by Kid Nate on May 21, 2009 2:16 PM EDT reply actions   0 recs

I knew it!
=)

by MMASuPreMaCy on May 21, 2009 3:13 PM EDT up reply actions   0 recs

they also said

they didn’t believe it was anything serious and definitely not a virus. More likely some kind of click tracking if anything.
The ad providers were blocked strictly out of caution.

"the spirit of your average dumbass with more overblown rhetoric" OR "the self-appointed savior of MMA"

by Kid Nate on May 21, 2009 5:11 PM EDT up reply actions   0 recs

The only virus I’ve gotten from BE is lodged in my brain and forces me check the site several times a day.

Ever tried. Ever failed. No matter. Try Again. Fail again. Fail better. -Samuel Beckett

by themachiavellian on May 21, 2009 7:06 PM EDT reply actions   0 recs

Comments For This Post Are Closed


User Tools

"All men are frauds. The only difference between them is that some admit it. I myself deny it." -- H.L. Mencken
Start posting on Bloody Elbow »

Join SB Nation and dive into communities focused on all your favorite teams.

FanPosts

Community blog posts and discussion.

Recommended FanPosts

U-faber_small
Junior Dos Santos and Ed Soares vs. The UFC: The Comic
Smal_small
Sonnen over Anderson? Not really (now with flowchart!)
Gsp123jv7_small
Breaking Down IGN’s First Look of UFC 2010: Undisputed…
Small
HKL on Kickboxing: Crash Course on Kazuyoshi Ishii Forming K-1
30p9_small
When is it time to retire?

Recent FanPosts

Small
Sonnen Ignores Statements Made by Soares
The-return_small
MMA Fashion Apparel Poll
Leonard_washingtonavatar_small
The Case for a Draw Ruling in Guillard vs. Torres
Phish_small
Fantasy Light Heavyweight Tournament Quarterfinal #1
Photo_on_2009-11-30_at_02
Figuring out the UFC WW title picture
Me_small
Exclusive Seth Petruzelli Interview
Small
Did Sonnen do enough to "beat the champ"???
Pridegp_2_small
Sonnen is a legitimate threat to Anderson

+ New FanPost All FanPosts >

MMA Rankings

USA Today / SB Nation Consensus MMA Rankings